Journal of Non-Newtonian Fluid Mechanics

Complex Fluids Seminar Series

 

September 2021 - All talks 9.00 Vancouver, 12.00 New York, 17.00 London, 18.00 Paris, 00.00 Beijing

 

Previous talks: 2020

 

Wednesday 1st September 2021 – BREAK

 

Wednesday 8th September 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
John Hinch, University of Cambridge, UK
Oldroyd @ 100 Special Issue paper: Oldroyd B, and not A?

 

Wednesday 15th September 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Jeffrey Giacomin, Queens University, Canada
Oldroyd @ 100 Special Issue paper: Ongoing relevance of Oldroyd 8-constant fluids

 

Wednesday 22nd September 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Cassio Oishi, Sao Paulo State University, Brazil
Numerical aspects of non-Newtonian droplet dynamics using a free surface flow framework

 

Wednesday 29th September 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker
Michael Renardy, Virginia Tech, USA
Oldroyd @ 100 Special Issue paper: A mathematician’s perspective on the Oldroyd B model: Progress and future challenges

 

October

 

Wednesday 6th October 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker
Kayvan Sadegy, University of Tehran, Iran
On the Use of Peristalsis for Transporting Soft Bio-Particles in Microfluidic Systems

Wednesday 13th October 2021 - BREAK (to avoid clash with SOR)

 

Wednesday 20th October 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker
D. Ian Wilson, University of Cambridge, UK
Cleaning-in-place: case studies of coupled flows and complex fluids

Wednesday 27th October 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker
Eric Shaqfeh, Stanford University, California, USA and Bamin Khomami, University of Tennessee, Tennessee, USA
Oldroyd @ 100 Special Issue paper: The Oldroyd-B Fluid in Elastic Instabilities, Turbulence and Particle Suspensions

 

August

 

Wednesday 4th August 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Steven Lind, University of Manchester, UK
The Kaye Effect: new insights and modelling approaches

Wednesday 11th August 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Maria Charalambides, Imperial College London, UK
Modelling deformation and flow of food during oral and gastric processing

 

Wednesday 18th August 2021 – BREAK

 

Wednesday 25th August 2021 – BREAK

 

 

July

 

Wednesday 7th July 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Catherine Barentin, Université Lyon 1, France
Wetting of Yield Stress Fluids

 

Wednesday 14th July 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Jacco Snoeijer, University of Twente, Netherlands
Some capillary flows of viscoelastic fluids

 

Wednesday 21st July 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Li Xi, McMaster University, Canada
Multistage transitions in viscoelastic turbulent flow: vortex structures and self-sustaining mechanisms

 

Wednesday 28th July 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Simon Cox, Aberystwyth University, Wales
The fascination of flowing foams

 

June

 

Wednesday 2nd June 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Dieter Bothe, Matthias Niethammer, TU Darmstadt, Germany and Günter Brenn, TU Graz, Austria
On the velocity jump discontinuity for single bubbles rising in a viscoelastic fluid

Wednesday 9th June 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Becca Thomases, University of California, Davis, USA
Quantifying fluid transitions for different strokes with applications to micro-organisms swimming in viscoelastic fluids

 

Wednesday 16th June 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here} 
Neil Balmforth, University of British Columbia, Canada
Patterns in viscoplastic films

 

Wednesday 23rd June 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Simon Rogers, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
A material’s perspective: Developing a transient framework for understanding nonlinear rheological responses

 

Wednesday 30th June 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Nicolas Roussel, IFSTTAR, Université Gustave Eiffel, France
Cement-based materials, 3D - printable materials by nature

 

May

 

Wednesday 5th May 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
J. Miguel Nobrega, University of Minho, Portugal
Computational Rheology with OpenFOAM® Computational Library

Wednesday 12th May 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Jaewook Nam, Seoul National University, Korea
Coating research for mass production technologies of next-gen electronics

Wednesday 19th May 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Mahdi Davoodi, Schlumberger Cambridge Research, UK
Control of purely-elastic instabilities in cross-slot geometries

Wednesday 26th May 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Satish Kumar, University of Minnesota, USA
Nonmodal amplification of disturbances in channel flows of viscoelastic fluids

 

 

April

 

Wednesday 7th April 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Sandra Lerouge, Université Paris-Diderot, France
Flow of wormlike micelles: from shear banding to elastic turbulence

Wednesday 14th April 2021 – BREAK (to avoid clash with AERC)

 

Wednesday 21st April 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Natalie Germann, Technical University of Munich, Germany
Experiment-based non-equilibrium thermodynamic modeling of complex mixtures

Wednesday 28th April 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Stelios Varchanis and John Tsamopoulos, University of Patras, Greece
Numerical simulations of interfacial and elastic instabilities

March

 

Wednesday 3rd March 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Paulo Arratia, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Purely elastic instabilities in parallel shear flows

Wednesday 10th March 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Jordi Ortin, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain
Stokes layers in oscillatory flows of viscoelastic fluids

Wednesday 17th March 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Ruri Hidema, Kobe University, Japan
Characteristic energy transfer in a polymer-doped two-dimensional turbulent flow and microfluidic approach to detect drag coefficients of polymers

Wednesday 24th March 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Bavand Keshavarz, MIT, USA
Viscoelastic involutes: when liquid threads spin

Wednesday 31st March 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Alexander Morozov, University of Edinburgh, UK
Purely elastic instabilities in shear layers

 

February

 

Wednesday 3rd February 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}[further reading]
Seyed Mohammad Taghavi, Laval University, Quebec, Canada
Displacement flows in rotating pipes

Wednesday 10th February 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Shiyan Wang, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
Theoretical Studies of Cross-Stream Migration Non-Spherical Particles in an Arbitrary Quadratic Flow of a General Second-Order Fluid

Wednesday 17th February 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Till Kranz, University of Cologne, Germany
Understanding Dense Granular Flow from First Principles

Wednesday 24th February 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}[further reading]
Cari Dutcher, University of Minnesota, USA
Droplet microfluidics for studying surfactant-rich interfaces found in aerosols, emulsions and foams

 

January

 

Wednesday 6th January 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Howard Stone, Princeton University, New Jersey, USA
Fluid dynamics of speech: Mechanisms underlying pathogen transmission

Wednesday 13th January 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Arun Ramachandran, University of Toronto, Canada
The influence of the rheology of concentrated, non-Brownian suspensions on solute mass transfer characteristics

Wednesday 20th January 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}[further reading]
Mazi Jalaal, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Plastocapillarity: yield-stress fluids driven by surface tension

Wednesday 27th January 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Mónica Oliveira, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK
Characterisation of complex fluids and bioparticles using optimised microfluidic devices

 


To register for the Complex Fluids Seminar Series announcements by E-mail, please send a plain text e-mail message to <mjrdomo (at) math.ubc.ca>

with the following content:                                         

                                                      subscribe fluid-mech-seminar

To unsubscribe, send:                      unsubscribe fluid-mech-seminar

Example email

If you have issues subscribing to the list please E-mail the organisers either <robpoole (at) liv.ac.uk> or <frigaard (at) math.ubc.ca> and we’ll do our best to help.