Journal of Non-Newtonian Fluid Mechanics

Complex Fluids Seminar Series

 

March 2021 - All talks 9.00 Vancouver, 12.00 New York, 17.00 London, 18.00 Paris, 00.00 Beijing

 

Previous talks: 2020

 

Wednesday 3rd March 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Paulo Arratia, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Purely elastic instabilities in parallel shear flows

Wednesday 10th March 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker
Jordi Ortin, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain
Stokes layers in oscillatory flows of viscoelastic fluids

Wednesday 17th March 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker
Ruri Hidema, Kobe University, Japan
Characteristic energy transfer in a polymer-doped two-dimensional turbulent flow and microfluidic approach to detect drag coefficients of polymers

Wednesday 24th March 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker
Bavand Keshavarz, MIT, USA
Viscoelastic involutes: when liquid threads spin

Wednesday 31st March 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker
Alexander Morozov, University of Edinburgh, UK
TBC

 

February

 

Wednesday 3rd February 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}[further reading]
Seyed Mohammad Taghavi, Laval University, Quebec, Canada
Displacement flows in rotating pipes

Wednesday 10th February 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Shiyan Wang, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
Theoretical Studies of Cross-Stream Migration Non-Spherical Particles in an Arbitrary Quadratic Flow of a General Second-Order Fluid

Wednesday 17th February 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Till Kranz, University of Cologne, Germany
Understanding Dense Granular Flow from First Principles

Wednesday 24th February 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Cari Dutcher, University of Minnesota, USA
Droplet microfluidics for studying surfactant-rich interfaces found in aerosols, emulsions and foams

 

January

 

Wednesday 6th January 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Howard Stone, Princeton University, New Jersey, USA
Fluid dynamics of speech: Mechanisms underlying pathogen transmission

Wednesday 13th January 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Arun Ramachandran, University of Toronto, Canada
The influence of the rheology of concentrated, non-Brownian suspensions on solute mass transfer characteristics

Wednesday 20th January 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}[further reading]
Mazi Jalaal, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Plastocapillarity: yield-stress fluids driven by surface tension

Wednesday 27th January 2021

Virtual Seminar Speaker {watch here}
Mónica Oliveira, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK
Characterisation of complex fluids and bioparticles using optimised microfluidic devices

 


To register for the Complex Fluids Seminar Series announcements by E-mail, please send a plain text e-mail message to <mjrdomo (at) math.ubc.ca>

with the following content:                                         

                                                      subscribe fluid-mech-seminar

To unsubscribe, send:                      unsubscribe fluid-mech-seminar

Example email

If you have issues subscribing to the list please E-mail the organisers either <robpoole (at) liv.ac.uk> or <frigaard (at) math.ubc.ca> and we’ll do our best to help.